9.00 (GBP) add to basketview basket

Battlefield Band - Battlefield Band


Use one of our audio players, or download this mp3 music sample of the track shown in green.

This album was originally released on the Topic label in 1977. It features Alan Reid, Brian McNeill, Jamie McMenemy and John Gahagan. Since then Battlefield Band has gone from strength to strength. As a team, along with producer Robin Morton, they have made a number of critically acclaimed albums, but this was the one that made people pay attention to a band who continue to tour the world playing to an ever widening audience. Fine musicians, hard work and good music have put them at the top and even today this album sounds as fresh as when it was made in 1976.

Q MAGAZINE - ... the band have always been at the forefront of presenting Scottish music in a fresh and modern context and its to their credit that these early recordings haven't dated as much as those of their South-of-the-border contemporaries.

Track list:

1. Silver Spear
The Humours of Tulla
2. The Shipyard Apprentice
3. Crossing the Minch
Minnie Hynd
The Glasgow Gaelic Club
4. The Brisk Young Lad
5. Birnie Bouzle
6. Compliments of the Band
7. Bonnie Jean
Paddy Faheys Reel
Josephs Fancy
The Hags Reel
8. It Was All For Our Rightful King
9. The Inverness Gathering
Marquis of Huntlys Strathspey
John McNeils Reel
10. Miss Margaret Browns Favourite
Deserts of Tulloch

11. The Cruel Brother