Battlefield Band - Leaving Friday Harbor

Select from currently available formats:

Released in 1999, this is the second album by the Alan Reid / John McCusker / Davy Steele / Mike Katz line-up, who firmly established themselves as one of the best, both with critics, and more importantly, their audience.

The record featured a high proportion of newly composed tunes and songs and was widely regarded as one of their best yet; building on the superb foundation laid down previously on 'Rain, Hail or Shine' as the band continued to move forward.

Davy & Mike, who had both previously played together in the Scottish band Ceolbeg, had become an integral part of the group even after this short period. Tragically though, this was Davy's last record with the group, as he was shortly thereafter diagnosed with cancer, and taken from life's stage all too prematurely at the age of 52. A huge loss for all who knew him and appreciated his music.

"It's hard to resort to cliches but why apologise - quite simply, the Battlefield Band have done it again and created a peach of an album"

"After over a quarter of a century some bands might begin to sound a little jaded but Scotlands Battlefield Band just get riper and riper"

Track list:
1. Clan Coco / The Road To Benderloch / Fifteen Stubbies To Warragul  2. The Last Trip Home 3. It's Nice To Be Nice / The Auld Toon Band / McCabe's Reel 4. The Straw Man 5. Leaving Friday Harbor 6. The 24th Guards Brigade at Anzio / The Melbourne Sleeper / MacRae's of Linnie 7. One More Chorus / The Mason's Apron / The Mountain Road 8. The Pleasure Will Be Mine 9. Something For Jamie 10. The Sisters Reel / Marion & Donald / The Lassie with the Yellow Petticoat / Jesse "The Body" Ventura's Reel 11. Logie O'Buchan / Logie's Waltz

Artists on this release: 
Battlefield Band
Alan Reid ( keyboards / vocals )
John McCusker ( fiddle / whistle / accordion / cittern )
Davy Steele ( guitar / bouzouki / bodhran & vocals )
Mike Katz ( small & highland pipes / whistle & bass )
Donald Hay ( percussion )

Further Information:  
Label: Temple Records 
Released: 1999

Recorded by Rob Van Sante and Robin Morton
Produced by Robin Morton

Temple Records Catalogue Number:    
CD - COMD 2080
Download - DD 2080

You might also like...