Shotts and Dykehead Caledonia Pipe Band - Another Quiet Sunday

Select from currently available formats:
This Grade 1 pipe band from Shotts, in the North Lanarkshire region of Scotland, has been a continual winner of awards and competitions. Formed in 1910, they won the British Championship at their very first appearance in 1935. At the time of this recording (1990) they had been 8 times Champion of Champions, 10 time World Champions: 16 times, European Champions, 18 times British Champions - not to mention their many successes at the Scottish Championships.

Over 25 years later, with the group still operating at the very highest level, this recording stands out as a superb musical snapshot of one of the finest pipe and drum bands in the world, performing under the leadershop of the legendary duo Pipe Major Robert (Rab) Mathieson and leading drummer Jim Kilpatrick.

This album also features guest appearances by Battlefield Band

"...a fascinating and well constructed mixture of traditional pipe band playing, solo piping, drumming, with several tracks where the band is joined by Battlefield Band and a Bombard player from Brittany. For lovers of pipe music and lovers of folk music alike, this record has much to offer"

"... to their formidable record in the competition stakes is now added the reputation, under Pipe Major Mathieson, of being one of the innovative new generation bands ... a drum fanfare of uncompromising length and fearsome precision demonstrates exactly why the bands drum corps, under Drum Major Jim Kilpatrick, has taken the world drumming honours so many times"

Track List:
1. Mooneys Jig / Isabelle Blackley
2. The Ass In The Graveyard
3. Highland Wedding / Dora MacLeod / Mrs MacPherson of Inveran
4. Drum Fanfare
5. Ian Ruadhs Lament / Jig in the Middle / Ian Ruadhs Lament
6. The Friendly Piper / The Black Isle / Abbieville
7. Taimse Im, Chuodladh
8. Miss Campbell of Sheerness / Bill Hartes Jig / Rory MacLeod
9. Commander Rodger Reid / The Magpie
10. MacNeils of Ugadale / The Highland Circus / Kenneth G. MacLeod
11. The Hen and the Turkey / The Cockerel and the Creel / Kiss the Train Goodbye
12. The Barmaid / The Swallow Tail Coat / The Wise Maiden / The Bagad Reel
13. Colins Cattle / The Heroes of Vittoria

Artists on this album:
Shotts & Dykehead Caledonia Pipe Band
Jim Kilpatrick
Rab Mathieson
Battlefield Band
Alan Reid
Brian McNeill
Dougie Pincock
Alistair Russell

Further Information:
Released in 1990

Temple Records Catalogue Number:
CD - COMD 2037
Download - DD 2037

Produced by Robin Morton

You might also like...