Alasdair White - An Clàr Geal (The White Album)

Select from currently available formats:

An Clàr Geal is the first solo album of Alasdair White, already well known as Battlefield Band’s virtuoso fiddle player. Having been highly regarded as a player since his early teens, he joined the group aged only 18 and his musicianship and tune making have had a great influence on the bands repertoire and continuing success. Playing with Battlefield Band has also given him the wider audience that his music deserves.



Alasdair grew up on the Isle of Lewis, in Scotland’s Outer Hebrides
, where Gaelic language and music remain important influences on the culture of the Islands and Scotland in general. For those fiddle enthusiasts among you, he plays in what might be called a “North-west” Scottish style, heavily derived from the piping tradition. For those that love just good music, then Alasdair’s playing and tune making offer a privileged panorama of the exciting traditional music of Scotland today.

Alasdair plays fiddle and whistles on this album and is also joined by friends Aaron Jones (bouzouki, bass guitar), Ewen McPherson (guitar, tromb, mandolin, banjo), Mike Katz (Scottish small pipes, highland pipes), Iain Copeland (percussion), Russell Hunter (piano) & Alison Kinnaird (Scottish harp)

"...the best thing to come out of Stornoway since Charlie MacLeod's black pudding"
The Glasgow Herald


"...exciting, stirring, fresh, moving... ...brilliantly played and arranged. I would rank this as one of my top albums of the year and I can't recommend it highly enough"
Shreds & Patches

"...a thoughtful and stylish album"
Scotland On Sunday

Track List:
The Weatherman 02. The Cockerel In The Creel 03. J.Glo's Hornpipe 04. Leaving Glendale 05. The Bird's Nest 06. The Kirkpatricks Of Iona 07. An Draigheann 08. Ziri Piri 09. Joe Wilson 10. The Amorous Lover 11. Òran a'Chaiora 12. Sleepy Maggie

Artists on this release:
Alasdair White
Aaron Jones (bouzouki, bass guitar)
Ewen McPherson (guitar, tromb, mandolin, banjo)
Mike Katz (Scottish small pipes, highland pipes)
Iain Copeland (percussion)
Russell Hunter (piano)
Alison Kinnaird (Scottish harp)

Further Information:  
Label: Temple Records
Released: 2006

Record Production Robin Morton
Engineered by Ewan MacGregor & Robin Morton

Temple Records Catalogue Number:    
CD - COMD 2099
Download - DD 2099

You might also like...