Battlefield Band - Home Ground

Select from currently available formats:

This live album, Battlefield Band's first, was recorded in Aberdeen during the group's Scottish tour in Spring 1989. It is made up of about a split of old favourites which were regularly requested at concerts, and new previously unrecorded material.

The line-up on this album is: Alan Reid, Brian McNeill, Dougie Pincock & Alistair Russell, with a guest appearance from past member Duncan MacGillivray.

"Although they may draw heavily on traditional folk themes, the Battlefield Bands vibrant eclectic mix of diverse instrumentation and original presentation always suggests far greater things. This splendid live album provides a fine taste of their talents"

The admirable Battlefield Band first live album shows just why they have become Scotlands most consistent and popular band over recent years. A fertile imagination and a wealth of instrumental ability are married to a sturdy, gutsy style of performance. Good songs are combined with a style of presenting dance-tune medleys, which is second to none in its originality and instrumental variation.  

Track list:
1. HOME GROUND -  Skinners Compiments to Dr. MacDonald / The Ivory ReelTuireadh Iain Ruaidh / Ladies From Hell / The Roes Among The Heather / Islays Charms / The Banks Of The Allan
2. The Yew Tree
3. AFTER HOURS - Whiskey In The Jar / The Green Gates / The Ship In Full Sail
4. PINCOCKS PLEASURE - Lady Carmichaels Strathspey / Laird O'Drumblair / The High Road To Linton / Conways Farewell / Andy Renwicks Ferret
5. The Dear Green Place
6. Fare Thee Well Whisky
7. THE HORNPIPES - John MacKenzies Fancy / Dr John McInnes Fancy / The Train Journey North
8. The Rovin Dies Hard
9. BAD MOON RISING - Rising Moon Reel
10. THE FOUR MINUTE WARNING - The Tides Out / James MacLellans Favourite / Dougies Decision / The Ferryman / Lady Doll Sinclair
11. Farewell Johnny Miner
12. BAND OF A THOUSAND CHANCES - Land Of A 1000 Dances / The Dashing White Sergeant / Donald Where's Your Trousers / The Fairy Dance / Lets Twist Again / Mrs McLeod of Raasay / With A Little Help From My Friends / The Atholl Highlanders
13. Peace And Plenty

Artists on this album:
Battlefield Band
Alan Reid 
Brian McNeill
Dougie Pincock
Alistair Russell
Duncan MacGillivray

Further Information:
Released in 1989

Temple Records Catalogue Number: COMD 2034

Produced by Robin Morton

You might also like...