Battlefield Band - Line-up

Select from currently available formats:
Released in 2011, 'Line-up' is a superb album from the award winning Battlefield Band, one of the great institutions of the Scottish music scene. A bedrock of music and talent for over four decades, they continue to lead the way with their inspired fusion of ancient and modern traditional music and song.

Following the handing of the baton from long-term member Alan Reid to new recruit Ewen Henderson, this album found Battlefield Band yet again moving on to a new, exciting period in their musical development, whilst building on the solid foundations that have always been key to their success.

' of the great institutions of the Scottish music scene.... ...slinky, attacking pieces, featuring the pipe playing of Mike Katz, or duelling fiddles from Alasdair White and Ewen Henderson... ...songs include an exquisite, whistle-backed Scottish Gaelic ballad Mo Ghleannan Taobh Loch Liobhainn, and an unexpected Celtic Soul treatment of the Otis Redding favourite, That's How Strong My Love Is...'
4 out of 5 stars, The Guardian

'...Mike Katz, Sean O’Donnell, Alasdair White and Ewen Henderson have taken the baton masterfully. I’ve never been disappointed by a performance or recording of the band since hearing their debut album in 1976 and long may they continue.'

'...the most interesting line-up of this venerable institution. From Otis Redding's That's How Strong My Love Is to a Ballachulish bodach's Loch Liobhainn, they cover many a tuneful Highland mile.'
Scotland on Sunday

Track list: 01 Raigmore 02 That's How Strong My Love Is 03 Easy Peasy 04 A' Bhriogais Uallach (The Pompous Trousers) 05 Song Composed in August 06 The Great White Herring 07 Iain Ghlinn Cuaich (Iain of Glen Quoich) 08 Lovers & Friends 09 The Pits 10 The Lily & The Rose 11 Glen Caladh Castle 12 Mo Ghleannan Taobh Loch Lìobhainn (My Glen by Loch Leven) 13 Me n’vin Bêlek, na Manac’h (I won’t go to Bêlek anymore)

Artists on this album:
Battlefield Band -
Mike Katz (highland and small pipes, whistles, bass, guitar, vocals) 
Alasdair White (fiddle, whistle, bouzouki, vocals) 
Sean O'Donnell (guitar, vocals) 
Ewen Henderson (fiddle, vocals, highland pipes)
& guest 
Mike Whellans (moothie / harmonica )

Further Information:
Label: Temple Records
Released: 18th August 2011

Temple Records Catalogue Number:
CD - COMD 2104
Download - DD 2104

Produced by Robin Morton 
Engineered by Ewan MacGregor & Robin Morton

You might also like...