Eilidh Mackenzie - Eideadh Na Sgeulachd

Select from currently available formats:

Released in 1992, this is the first solo recording from Eilidh Mackenzie, Gaelic singer and National Mod Gold Medal winner. A native of the Island of Lewis, Eilidh's family provided her with a constant source of musical influence and inspiration, and all three of her sisters are highly regarded Gaelic singers.

Eilidh is accompanied on this record by some superb musicians and singers and this, combined with sympathetic production, makes for unpredictable and fresh treatments of the traditional and original songs featured here.

"...abounds in the kind of crystal-clear sounds that break down the language barriers"

"Altogether this is an outstanding solo debut in the recording studio by a skilled and sensitive performer. Eilidh Mackenzie shows a full understanding of Gaelic song tradition and is already a songwriter and composer of considerable accomplishment. It is to be hoped that there will be ample opportunity to hear more of her in the future"

Track list:
1. 'S olc a dh'fhag an uiridh mi (Last year you left me)
2. Eideadh na Sgeulachd (The Raiment of the Tale)
3. Fhir a'bhàta (My Boatman)
4. Oran balaich Eoghainn (The song of Ewan's sons)
5. I Huiraibh o chan eil mi slàn (I am not well)
6. Cuir Culaibh ri Asainte (Turning your back on Assynt)
7. Acadh Bhuana (Harvest field)
8. Mo chridhe slàn (Whole-Hearted)
9. Ghràidh an tig thu? (My love, will you return?)
10. Latha Chuil-Lodair (Culloden)
11. Oran Gaoil a rinneadh ri taobh Loch Laomain (A love song composed on the banks of Loch Lomond)
12. Puirt-a-beul (Mouth Music)
13. A'Fàgail Ghriais (Leaving Gress)
14. Thig am bàta (The boat will come)

Artists on this album:
Eilidh MacKenzie 
Brian Miller (guitar, mandolin, backing vocals) 
Dougie Pincock (small pipes, whistle, backing vocals) 
Alison Kinnaird (Scottish harp) 
John McCusker (fiddle) 
Kim Tebble (accordion) 
Alister Mackenzie (guest singer)
Kenneth Mackenzie (guest singer)
Rodney Mackenzie (guest singer)
Kenneth Barker (guest singer)
Alan Reid (keyboards)
Iain MacDonald (wooden flute) 
Ross Fairgrieve (guitar)
Gillian Mackenzie (guest singer)
Jim Kilpatrick (snare, tenor and bass drums)

Further Information:
Label: Temple Records

Released in 1992

Temple Records Catalogue Number:
CD - COMD 2048
Download - DD 2048

Produced by Robin Morton

You might also like...