Dysart and Dundonald Pipe Band - Live In Concert

Select from currently available formats:
This is a historic recording of a superb performance in 1983 where Dysart and Dundonald Pipe Band, under Pipe Major R. T. Shepherd, were recorded live at a concert in Ballymena. Many think that it was in the mid-to-late 1980s when pipe bands began to break out of the musical straitjacket. Not so; here Dysart and Dundonald lay down new ground rules, including a history making arrangement of a complete pibroch.

"... this re-release is definitely a collectors item ... after all, you're listening not only to THE band of that year ... but also to history in the making. Nice one Robin Morton!"

"For the pipe band enthusiast, a must as a milestone in innovation"

Track list:
1. Deil Among The Tailors / Fairy Dance / Circassian Circle / High Road To Linton / Jock Wilsons Ball / Mrs MacLeod O Raasay / Kate Dalrymple / The Wind That Shakes The Barley / Masons Apron
2. Shiver Me Timbers / H.M.S. Renown
3. Pony Gallop / Father O Flynn / Hens March / Champion Of The Seas / Breton Melody / Little Cascade
4. Laggan Love / J. F. McKenzie / Rose Amang The Heather / Forest Lodge / Linen Cap / Blacksmiths Reel / Laggan Love
5. Childrens Song / Thief Of Lochaber / Kenny Gillies / Granny MacLeod / Rakes of Kildare
6. McCarthy Street / David Johnston
7. Killiecrankie / Nicky Tams / Wee Cooper o' Fife / Muckin O' Geordies Byre / Yon Toon
8. Desperate Battle Of The Birds
9. Blue Bells of Scotland / Banjo Breakdown

Artists on this release:
Dysart and Dundonald Pipe Band

Further Information:
Label: Temple Records

Recorded live in County Hall Ballymena, 9th April 1983
Originally issued by Scotstoun Productions
This release: re-mastered by Robin Morton and released in 1994

Temple Records Catalogue Number:  
CD - COMD 2053
Download - DD 2053

You might also like...