Máire Ní Chathasaigh - The New Strung Harp

Select from currently available formats:

Máire Ní Chathasaigh's  'The New Strung Harp' has particular historical significance as it was the first harp album ever to concentrate on traditional Irish dance music.

Máire, winner of the prestigious TG4 Irish Traditional Musician of the Year in 2001, has an international reputation as an exponent of traditional Irish music on the harp. Her unique approach to the instrument has been a prime influence on Irish harp playing in recent years. With Máire's knowledge of traditional music, as played on other instruments, an ear for her native music and analytical habit of mind, she has evolved a traditional style for her instrument, particularly in relation to dance music.

"Perhaps the next step for those weaned onto Irish harp and the wonderful Gaelic harmonies of Clannad ... a truly enchanting release"

"No chance of your mind wandering while Maire Ni Chathasaigh is performing"

Track list:
1. Charles O'Conor / Father Hanly
2. O Ho Nighean, E Ho Nighean
3. Madam Maxwell
4. The Pullet / The Volunteer
5. An Speic Seoigheach
6. The Humours of Ballyloughlin
7. Hindero Horo
8. The Bantry Girls' Lament
9. The Gander in the Pratie Hole
The Queen of the Rushes
10. Carolan's Farewell to Music
11. The Fisherman's Hornpipe / The Cuckoo's Nest
12. The Boys of Malin / The Old Oak Tree
13. Planxty Sudley


Artists on this album:
Máire Ní Chathasaigh

Further Information:
First released in 1985

Temple Records Catalogue Number: COMD 2019

Produced by Robin Morton

You might also like...