Battlefield Band - 'Stand Easy' and 'Preview'

Select from currently available formats:

Sold Out

  • Sorry - this release is no longer available from Temple Records.

This is a re-release of Battlefield Band's classic 1979 album, 'Stand Easy' (originally released on Topic Records), to which we have added four tracks from an EP called 'Preview', produced on a limited basis by Temple Records in 1980.

'Stand Easy' featured the early line up of Jenny Clark, Duncan MacGillivray, Brian McNeill and Alan Reid. 'Preview' featured an unusual five piece line-up, with MacGillivray, McNeill and Reid joined by Sylvia and Jim Barnes.

"These recordings catch Battlefield Band showing the questing, inquisitive musical spirit that was to produce arguably their finest studio work in the Eighties"

"Throughout, that cool Scots swagger and vibrancy is there in copious amounts ... still fresh fifteen years on"

"Thanks to Temple, these recordings are no longer history, a very worthwhile reissue of a classic"   

Track list:

1. Miss Drummond of Perth / Fiddler's Joy / Traditional Reel / The Shetland Fiddler
2. Seven Braw Gowns / Miss MacLeod's Minuet
4. My Last Farewell To Stirling / Cuidich'n Righ
5. I Hae Laid A Herrin In Salt / My Wife's A Wanton Wee Thing / The Banks Of The Allan
6. The Battle of Falkirk Muir
7. John D. Burgess / The Braemar Gathering
8. I Hae Nae Kith, I Hae Nae Kin
9. Miss Lyall / Small Coals For Nailers / Bleaton Gardens
10. Christ Has My Hart Ay
11. Joe McGanns Fiddle / Centers Bonnet

12. Rantin' Rovin' Robin
13. 74th Highlanders Farewell To Edinburgh / The Cup Of Tea
14. Bonny Lass Come Ower The Burn
15. Lord Huntley's Cave / The Lady In The Bottle / Stewart Chisholm's Walkabout

Artists on this release:
Battlefield Band
Jenny Clark
Duncan MacGillivray
Brian McNeill
Alan Reid 
Sylvia  Barnes
Jim Barnes

Further Information:
Label: Temple Records

This version released on CD in 1994
'Stand Easy' originally released on Topic Records in 1979
'Preview' EP  released by Temple Records in 1980.

Temple Records Catalogue Number: 
CD - COMD 2052
Download - DD 2052

Produced by Robin Morton

You might also like...